Daily Archives: December 3, 2009

Some Nice Vintage For Your Viewing Pleasure

I haven’t posted in a while so I thought I would at least show off a couple of cards I picked up off eBay recently.  The first is one of my new favorite cards.  I got it for $8.50 shipped which blew my mind.  It only “books” for $50, but one would think it should be worth more than a ’08 upside down gimmick card or sell for more than a jumbo pack of ’09 Topps.

That’s right.  A 1960 Ernie Banks “books” for the same as the Jay Bruce upside down Topps U&H gimmick card and sells for less than many packs of todays cards.  Does anybody else find that odd?  I know what purchase I would make 10 times out of 10.

The other card I picked up was one of those that I’ve been bidding on for more than a year and always find a way to lose out by about $.50.  They say patience is a virtue and in this instance it paid off.  I was able to pick this up for less than $20 shipped.

Yep, while people are throwing money at the new Topps T206, I was able to grab the real thing for less than a blaster of the new stuff.  I hope to have a proper write-up on Mr. Warhop later on down the road.  He is a significant person in the history of baseball.  He is also from my town and played for our local club before going to New York to join the big show.  My wife’s cousin is also related to him and has an incredible scrapbook of his that I hope to get a hold of for your viewing pleasure.  It probably won’t happen until Christmas, but I hope to make it happen.

I still haven’t heard anything from Beckett on the grading of my cards.  I encourage everyone to take part in the contest here.  I paid for the ten day service and they should be graded real soon.  I’ll post the results as soon as I get them.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized