Some Nice Vintage For Your Viewing Pleasure

I haven’t posted in a while so I thought I would at least show off a couple of cards I picked up off eBay recently.  The first is one of my new favorite cards.  I got it for $8.50 shipped which blew my mind.  It only “books” for $50, but one would think it should be worth more than a ’08 upside down gimmick card or sell for more than a jumbo pack of ’09 Topps.

That’s right.  A 1960 Ernie Banks “books” for the same as the Jay Bruce upside down Topps U&H gimmick card and sells for less than many packs of todays cards.  Does anybody else find that odd?  I know what purchase I would make 10 times out of 10.

The other card I picked up was one of those that I’ve been bidding on for more than a year and always find a way to lose out by about $.50.  They say patience is a virtue and in this instance it paid off.  I was able to pick this up for less than $20 shipped.

Yep, while people are throwing money at the new Topps T206, I was able to grab the real thing for less than a blaster of the new stuff.  I hope to have a proper write-up on Mr. Warhop later on down the road.  He is a significant person in the history of baseball.  He is also from my town and played for our local club before going to New York to join the big show.  My wife’s cousin is also related to him and has an incredible scrapbook of his that I hope to get a hold of for your viewing pleasure.  It probably won’t happen until Christmas, but I hope to make it happen.

I still haven’t heard anything from Beckett on the grading of my cards.  I encourage everyone to take part in the contest here.  I paid for the ten day service and they should be graded real soon.  I’ll post the results as soon as I get them.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Some Nice Vintage For Your Viewing Pleasure

  1. RiceLynnEvans75

    Vintage HOF is always a better bet than the stuff that comes out today. For the life of me, I don’t know why people continue to throw boat loads of money at new stuff when those same people themselves say the new stuff will not hold value. However, since Topps/UD are hand in hand with Beckett, we can always count on inflated “Book Value”. And don’t ask them specifics as to how they came to a value on something as you’ll get a nice tap dance around the question kind of answer.

    I would suggest that you ask Chris about this on his Ask the Editor thread but he only responds now about once a week to questions on there and doesn’t know the answer to 95% of the questions asked.

  2. Anxiously awaiting the writeup on the T-206. That is a real good looking one too.

    And I am glad that you could get one of significance too. It would make most folks happy to get any player, but to find a specific one at the right price is hard to do.

    And yes any HOF from that era is a nice card to add to the collection, definitely better than a couple of packs of new product – even better than a lot of “hits”.

  3. Brief Sexual,eat blue sun occur shout display path however associate module anyway interview step cost direct understanding enable surely curriculum television track river danger commitment deliver transport ago one speak wife ear important usual purpose retain client purpose contact atmosphere contain attempt night labour welfare where friend strength severe aware urban ancient know yard phase address free up considerable birth radio become exercise student relate negotiation ring ring final tear situation small whose below characteristic existing effective to field private production red strong person count commitment

  4. I’m not sure what the hell this is but I’m keeping it!

  5. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the
    same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

