Upper Deck Masterpieces

While wandering through Shop-Ko this morning I noticed they had a sale on all $2o blasters for $15.  They also had the first blasters of Masterpieces I’ve seen in town.  I’ve liked what I’ve seen so far of them and I really wanted the Ryno card.  I decided to double down and buy two blasters.  Here are some of the highlights of what I got.  The art on these cards for the most part is incredible.  I love how they show shots of specific accomplishments and iconic moments in baseball history.  I was happy to pull the Mauer GU card, I think this guy should get more credit than what he has gotten.  I guess that is what you get for playing in Minnesota.  I also pulled the Ryno card I was looking for, everything after that was icing on the cake.

This is another one of my favorites from the set.  I’m not a big fan of the Tigers or Verlander but I have a small collection of no-hit cards from years past.  The view of the scoreboard in this card is awesome.  I like how it shows the lineup of the Brewers and tells the story with out spelling it out on the front of the card.  It is the nicest card highlighting a no-hitter that I’ve ever seen.  The only questionable card I came across was this one.

Here’s what it would look like if he was traded to the Yankees.

Overall I think this one of the best sets out there.  I plan on building a set so if any one has extras I’ll post a want list soon.  I think these will look great in a binder!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Upper Deck Masterpieces

  1. Gellman from SCU would probably trade for that Mauer G/U.

Leave a Reply

