The Pete Rose Set Brought To You By Kenny Goldin

auto

It has arrived!  I now have in my possession 10 sets of  the 1985 Topps Pete Rose subset with autos.  To all those who were able to get one with me they will be mailed on Tuesday.  Ever since I saw this set I wondered why I had never seen this before.  I am by no means a baseball card expert, but I am the kid from school who did every report, science project, and speech about baseball and baseball cards.  I still have piles of books from when I was a kid that I used as research.  I’ve gone through these and there is no mention of this set.  I talked to a dealer at the card show last week who had two sets and looked at me as if I was full of shit when I asked him about the auto.  I have learned a little more to the mystery since I have received these.  Originally these were distributed by Renata Galasso, Inc.  This was the main distributor for Topps in the late ’70s to the early’80s.  These could of been purchased through their mail order catalog.  Originally these did not include an auto.  So who do we have to thank for this great Pete Rose autograph.  The one and only Kenny Goldin.

coa

It appears he applied his Goldin touch to these sets and had Pete Rose autograph a handful of these sets and then resold them through The Score Board.  Personally I think the guy is kind of a douche bag, but I guess I do have to thank him for putting this little set together.  It is a great set.  There are some great moments in time capture on baseball cards in here.  There are some great Ron Lewis paintings included in here too.  Cards 1-3 feature a decades worth of stats each.  Numbers 4 through 90 feature a Q & A session on the back along with a little blurb about what the card is.  91 through 120 have puzzle pieces on the back displaying all of Rose’s regularly issued cards.  The only complaint I have is that some of the cards in my set are off centered a little bit and Kenny Goldin had a part in this, otherwise it is worth every penny.  Speaking of “worth” Beckett tells me this set without the auto is worth $15.  All cards except #1 book for .25, #1 books for .50.  Here’s a question I always had with Beckett pricing, if there are 120 cards worth .25 how in the hell can a complete set only be worth $15?  Anyways here’s a few gems from the set…..

fosse-collisionron-lewis-painting4190

chin-strapput-a-10-spot-on-cinci

I can’t help but wonder if his bookie is on the other end of the line.


10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “The Pete Rose Set Brought To You By Kenny Goldin

  1. chasingmoss

    $15 eh? I guess that means a certified Rose auto is only worth $13! Thanks again for fronting this group buy. Can’t wait to see this one in person.

  2. JT

    Man I need to pick up one of these sets sometime. I’m sure you probably had plenty of takers on the group buy and there are none left, so I’ll just keep my eyes open at card shows in the future.

  3. Wow, those base cards look better than I imagined!

  4. JRJ

    Very cool. Thank you.

  5. Pingback: My Pete Rose Autograph « Fielder’s Choice Baseball Card Blog

  6. Fuji

    thanks chris for putting this group purchase together… the autograph is sweet!

  7. JRJ

    Hey I received mine this weekend. They look great. Good blogosphere karma coming your way.
    Thanks again and thanks for organizing all of this.

  8. Larry

    Any chance you still have one of these sets for sale?

    Thanks

  9. No, but there is still a lot on ebay. It has a Buy now of $295. I keep contemplating picking it up, but if I do, I’ll probably get greedy this time and try to turn a profit. That’s why I haven’t picked it up yet, I’ve had plenty of interest for it if someone else wanted to buy it and split it up I can send you a list of who’s still looking for one. I just don’t want to squeeze money from any readers or fellow bloggers and I’d hate to split it up on ebay and leave anybody out who originally wanted one. I sometimes hate having a conscience.

  10. Jeff Davis

    Hi guys. Thank you for all of the information on this set. I was just going through my dad’s collection which I inherited and ran into this set. I saw the autograph and didn’t know if it was real. Anyway, googled and got to you. I have the complete set with the box and autographed card. They are in great condition. Looks like nobody has really fingered them too much. What would you suggest I do with these cards. I am trying to get rid of a bunch of his cards but I am trying to keep the best card available for every HOF player. I am from Ohio and love Pete Rose but could also use the money. Should I have the signed card graded by beckett or someone. Suggestions please.
    Thanks,
    Jeff Davis

Leave a Reply

