I Like Mail

trade-with-steve2
My mailman rarely makes it to my house by the time I leave for work.  So it’s great when I can come home and find a package or two waiting to be opened!  Tonight was no exception.  Steve from Wait till next year was kind enough to send over two great cards from my want list, two cards that were on my I didn’t even know I wanted list,  two great cards that I already have, and a Poo-Holes.

The two from the want list are the Sutcliffe RC and the Dave Stewert RC.  Sutcliffe was the inspiration for me to become a pitcher in the Little Leagues.  Someday when I complete a few of the sets and player collections I’m already chasing, I think I’ll add Ol’ Sutty to the list of things to collect.  Sutcliffe inspired me and Stewert Scared me.  He was one scary dude when he was on the mound.  Back in my early teens I was a closet A’s fan.  I always bled Cubbie blue but I thought it would be OK to root for an American League team.  It now goes against everything I believe in but I fell for the Bash Brothers, The Eck, Rickey, and Dave Stewert.  When I pitched I always tried to be as intimidating as Stewert was.  I’m pretty sure he did a better job of it!

The two I didn’t know I wanted  are the Mitch Williams RC’s.  He was by far one of my favorite players when he played for the Cubs.  I was even rooting for the Phils in ’93, but we all know how that ended.  It’s good to see him on the MLB Network as an analyst minus the ape drape!

The two I already have are the Grace and Palmeiro.  This is the problem trying to trade with collectors of the same team.  If I didn’t already have them I would be stoked to get these as they are both great cards.  Luckily I have a 3 yr old son who I have started a pile of Cubs cards for.  These will be going to him, I just hope he doesn’t do anything stupid and become a Cardinal’s fan!

That brings me to the last card.  I know Pujols is probably going to be one of the best of this generation and quite possibly one of the greatest of all time, but he is still a damn Cardinal!  I’m thinking this might be like an old maid card for Cub’s collectors.  Maybe Steve got it in a trade and wanted to get rid of it, and now I’m the old maid.  Maybe the next trade I make with Mr. Applebaum or if I complete a trade with Wrigley Wax I’ll make them the old maid.

Thanks again Steve for the great cards, yours finally went in the mail today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Trades

Leave a Reply

