Two New ’62’s

spahn-and-duke

This is what $10 will buy you these days!  Two 47 yr old baseball cards of Hall Of Famers.  As a young collector these are the kind of cards I could only dream of owning, now 20 years later I can pick them up for a little more than a super sized meal at McDonalds.   Beckett puts a value of $60 for the Snider and $40 for the Spahn.  I think I got the Snider for $2.75 and the Spahn for $4.75 and $2.50 for shipping.  These are obviously not in the mintiest of conditions but I am not overly concerned with that.  When I’m buying 47 year old pieces of cardboard I kinda want them to look like 47 year old pieces of cardboard.  It adds a bit of personality to the cards.

In other news, due to a nightmare of a cold/flu/I don’t know what the hell hit me, I have a lot of catching up to do.  I have received a couple of trade packages, including one while I was typing this.  They both deserve their own posts.  I also plan on doing some site maintenance and some updated want and need lists soon.  Hopefully I can get this all done before Spring Training is in full swing otherwise it will all be delayed once more.  Stay tuned……..

3 Comments

Filed under 1962 Topps

3 responses to “Two New ’62’s

  1. Nice pickup. I can tell they aren’t pack-fresh, but they do look very nice for their age.

  2. For 10 bucks I’m not complaining!

  3. JRJ

    Great additions to the collection for $10! I think that’s a great deal.

Leave a Reply

