1962 Billy Williams

288-billy-williams

I’ve been on a Hall Of Fame streak lately with my ’62 set.  This beauty here set me back $4.42.  It has some unsightly surface damage but strangely the card is smooth to the touch.  It’s still worth every penny of the $4.42.

Williams started his career in 1959 with the Cubs. He only played in 30 games between ’59 and ’60.  This allowed him to become the Rookie of the Year in 1961.  He played 16 years with the Cubbies before finishing his career with 2 seasons in Oakland.  He was a 6 time All Star who finished his career with 426 HR, 2,711 hits, 1,475 RBI’s and a .290 BA.  He was elected to the Hall Of Fame in 1987.  The Cubs retired his number, 26, later that year.  I was fortunate enough to be at that game.  I’ve actually been fortunate enough to be at 3 out of 4 of the number retirement ceremonies, Banks being the only one I have missed.  I was also fortunate a few years back when my Mom went to a game on Billy Williams Day and won an autographed baseball.  It now sits next to my Santo and Sandberg balls.  I still need the Banks auto to have all four retired jersey numbers.  Somehow Banks manages to elude me!

I have managed to post a complete have/have not list for the ’62 set here.  I am almost 25% of the way home!

2 Comments

Filed under 1962 Topps

2 responses to “1962 Billy Williams

  1. One of my favorite cards of All-time!!!

  2. a favorite of mine as well . . . especially with that well deserved gold trophy !

Leave a Reply

