I Need Help Figuring Out Who These Autographs Are From

I need your help.  I bumped into a couple at the local show today who had a nice stack of old autos.  They were looking to maybe sell them and for some help on figuring out who some of them were.  I managed to help out more than I thought I would have been able to.  I now have all of these figured out except for the one or ones in Japanese.  They are all from the late 1940’s and early 1950’s Cubs and White Sox teams.  Leave your best guesses in the comments.  I’ll give a small prize to whoever can figure out the Japanese ones.  If your interested in buying these let me know and I’ll put you in touch with them.  I’ll post a full list in a couple of days of who they all are.

Thanks in advance, because I know you all will not disappoint!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “I Need Help Figuring Out Who These Autographs Are From

  1. (best I can d0)
    1. Turk Lown
    2. Peanuts Lowrey
    3. Bob Ramazzotti
    4. Ransom Jackson
    5. Dutch Leonard (the one who pitched in the 40s)
    6. George “Catfish” Metkovich
    7. Milt Stock
    8. Tom Simpson
    9. Fred Hancock
    10. Hank Sauer
    11. Frank Bowory
    12. Phil Cavaretta
    13. Luke Appling
    14.
    15.
    16. Bill Power
    17. Hal Jeffcoat

    18. Bill Jurges
    19.
    20. Ray Blades
    21. Dee Fondy
    22. Hal Jeffcoat
    23. Steve Souchock

  2. Matt’s got most of them. #19 is tricky. That’s all I say about it. I think we may need an interpreter for #14 and #15.

  3. What an awesome collection of autographs. And you can read most of them, not like the scribbles we see today. # 19 is Yosh Kawano, the Cubs clubhouse man. I wonder if the two Japanese signatures are somehow related to Yosh.

    1. Turk Lown
    2. Peanuts Lowrey
    3. Bob Ramazzotti
    4. Handsome Ransom Jackson
    5. Dutch Leonard
    6. George Metkovich
    7. Milt Stock
    8. Tom Simpson
    9. Fred Hancock
    10. Hank Sauer
    11. Frank Bowory
    12. Phil Cavaretta
    13. Luke Appling
    14.
    15.
    16. Bill Power
    17. Hal Jeffcoat
    18. Bill Jurges
    19. Yosh Kawano
    20. Ray Blades
    21. Dee Fondy
    22. Hal Jeffcoat
    23. Steve Souchock

  4. That’s what I was thinking. I was surprised to see a Yosh auto from 1948. He was just the clubhouse attendant at the time. My theory on the Japanese ones are that maybe they had Yosh or someone else write their names in Japanese. I’d love to find someone who can read it because it’s really starting to make me wonder. I knew a Cubbie fan would figure #19 out. Well done Paul!

  5. Wow, what a neat collection. As a fellow Cubs fan, I’ll echo what’s already been said; it’s amazing to see a 62 year old Yosh autograph. Thanks for letting us see these.

  6. Tom

    Thats an awesome lot of old-timers.
    I’d be interested in purchasing the Peanuts Lowrey for my All-Time Angels collection if you wouldn’t mind hooking me up with the owners.

  7. I like how Peanuts Lowery signed his name “P-Nuts” like you see on a roadside sign.

  8. Unfortunately Tom they were selling all or nothing. I was interested in a few of them myself but they did not want to split it up.

  9. ALLEN ANTHONY

    Actually, the name on # 11 is Hank not Frank Bowory … Additionally, anyone you know who can speak / read Japanese would be able to advise who is on both 14 and 15 which are identical … Yosh used to sign for anyone who asked as he was always popular and the players encouraged him to sign things like team pictures and baseballs … All the best

  10. Actually, #11 is Hank Borowy not Bowory, but good eye! So everyone is a little bit wrong on that one. Also I’ve asked a few people who can read Japanese and they can’t make sense of them, if you know someone please direct them here to have a look. And if you look close the last characters on them they are different, I don’t know if it is just different hand writing or if they are truly different. I still find it hard to believe that Yosh was in that much of a demand in 1948. I would expect to see one maybe from the ’70s or later. Or the fact that someone would actually hold on to a clubhouse attendants autograph for over 60 years.

Leave a Reply

